Anglican Communion, GAFCON, Lambeth Conference, TEC Conflict

Touched by this post

I was reading through my regular cycle of other Anglican blogs when I happened across this post by BabyBlue. What struck me about the post was one paragraph particularly. It interested me because it is written on a clock I received as a gift after I received my MDiv. I concur with BabyBlue that we do not continue on because we are right, but because we seek to follow Jesus no matter the cost.

I include the relevant paragraph below.

May we all have such a perspective.

I was reminded by a friend in Lambeth who told me the story of Winston Churchill giving a speech during the Blitz at Harrow School (where my cousins now go), Churchill stood up and went to the podium and said simply, ” Never give in. Never give in. Never, never, never, never–in nothing, great or small, large or petty–never give in.” Except to convictions of honor and good sense, Churchill said, “never give in.” We can’t give up – not because we are always right, hardly, but because we promised we would not give up. John writes in his first letter, “greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world.” It is not that we are right that empowers us to carry on, but because He is and we want to follow Him.

Standard

Leave a Reply

