Anglican Communion, Archbishop of Canterbury, TEC, TEC Conflict, Uncategorized

C’est tout…. C’est fini!

To paraphrase Kenneth Wolstenholme, They think it’s all over…. it is now. (I know, I know….. I couldn’t resist.)

I don’t know how anyone could interpret the outcome of GC09 as anything but a decision to walk apart. KJS and Pres. Anderson can write what they want to the ABC (here). I don’t know, call me crazy, but I believe that the Wall Street Journal tends to get things right most of the time. Read their article here.

If you want to get a true sense of what the orthodox in TEC are feeling right now. Check out the press conference on StandFirm here. There’s no question how Bishop Love feels. You’ve got to feel for the guy. You can just see the heartache and sorrow. (You are in our prayers, Bishop Love and all the other orthodox bishops, clergy and laity.)

I don’t know what sort of response is going to come out of Lambeth. But wouldn’t it be refreshing to not have some sort of double-speak? To actually get a statement that means something and means what it says? I don’t know, may be just wishful thinking.

I read something someone said in one of the Houses during debate. They said something along these lines: You can say, ‘I can fly.’ Heck, you can even climb up to the top of your roof, start flapping your arms and jump off. But you’re still going to fall straight to the ground.

I’d add one thing to that… After you fall, don’t turn around to the media and say, See, look. I did fly; all the way from the rooftop to the ground.

No matter what the spin doctors try to do, the proverbial fat lady has sung. C’est tout…..C’est fini.

Keep flapping those arms, TEC. Keep flapping those arms…

Standard

Leave a Reply

